39 weeks! Tired and {getting} ready

IMG_2999.JPG
Does it look like Baby Boo is trying to escape out my belly button?

1 week left till the official due date on my form of October 27 and I’m getting excited to meet this little baby in my big round belly.

I have most of the essentials: nappies, teenie weenie cutie pie baby clothes, bassinet, etc. Also my body has kindly been training me for sleepless nights by waking me up at 3-4am with someone jumping on my bladder and then not being able to go back to sleep for hours.

This pregnancy had felt largely similar to the last one, only more tired this time – I think that’s to be expected running after a toddler no matter what.

Work wise we’ve suddenly gotten really super busy. We’ve launched 6 websites in the past month, had 2 brandstorms. We are also facing moving out of the bunker and finding new premises thanks to new building owners jacking up every possible outgoing, and doing things in underhanded ways. *Insert face palm here* Although it’s a bit crazy to manage, it is better than suddenly being quiet. We hired a designer about 4 months ago to take over while I’m out on maternity leave, but now we need another one! So I’m organising as many people as possibilities to have on hand for when we get slammed for Mike to ring in.

Dianne has helped me refresh, wash, and even iron (yes!) baby clothes, wraps, etc.

When I saw the midwife last week she was very reassuring. My main thoughts were: when do I call/come in? And did she think with such a beautiful birth last time would it be likely to recreate that without doing all the planning and preparations that I did last time. She said call or come in anytime I want to – one beauty about living 5 minutes away. And to perhaps come in a little sooner this time. She said she hoped she was there when I came in, me too – it would be nice to have someone I’ve seen a few times but the chances are slim as there about 80 midwives on rotation.

Last time labor was 10 hours, she said she recommended after 5 hours I assess whether it might be time to come in. And to be sure I tell them that I was fully dilated when I got in last time, since sometimes they assess how far along you are by your voice on the phone.

I’ve started packing the hospital bag, now I might look in to booking in for Acupunture or she also recommended reflexology to get things rolling. Although I have been getting Braxton Hicks every day, so I know my uterus is doing some preparations of its own.

Mike is super excited to meet our new addition and Olivia talks to Baby Boo every day – although I think she’ll be in for a bit of a surprises when her Only Child status expires.

All in all I feel good, strong, and confident and excited to meet this little pumpkin. I wonder what day she will decide to come?!

Leave a comment